< back

7 types of whales in Loreto

Date Published:

Baja California Sur is famous the world over for its annual whale watching season from January to March. Never failing to attract lots of tourist and more importantly lots of whales.

The waters around Loreto Bay National Park are particularly busy with cetacean friends -  receiving seven different types of whale every year - blue, humpback, fin, sperm, pilot, killer and tropical bottlenose whales (also known as beaked whales).

Fernando Sáinz Arcas, president of the Environmentalist Group Antares (GEA AC) points out the unique opportunity this also presents to the scientific community to gather new data on all these whale groups.

GEA AC have been monitoring the waters for 20 years and regard it as one of the most unique natural protected areas in the world where whales come every year. Arcas suggests the combination of the water temperature, the tranquillity of the area, that fact that it is a gulf, and the large amount of food available create the perfect circumstances for whales to feed and breed.

< Article List

Latest Cabo Fishing Reports

Gordo Banks Cabo Fishing Report 23 August 2017

Tuna Dominate Bite, More Dorado Move in... More

Jen Wren Cabo Fishing Report 13 August 2017

The 18th annual East Cape Bisbee has been and... More

Social Media



Give Us Your Feedback

©2014 iTravel Connected, San Jose Del Cabo, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Email: Website presented on Big Red.